The National Centre for Charging Infrastructure works in the capacity of a think tank on the subject of charging infrastructure: It collects and analyses data, publishes evaluations and general information on the construction and operation of public charging stations. A particular focus is on publicly accessible charging points funded within the scope of the BMVI’s funding programmes. Here, for example, the utilisation, costs for installation and operation as well as the charging tariffs for ad-hoc charging are examined in more detail by the National Centre for Charging Infrastructure. The data is collected as part of the monitoring and reporting via the OBELIS online platform.

Facts & figures

The “Facts & Figures” section provides an overview of the expansion of the public charging infrastructure in Germany based on the data collected by the Federal Network Agency (“Bundesnetzagentur”). Moreover, the section shows how many normal and high-power charging points have received funding support and how many of these have already been set up.

OBELIS

The National Centre for Charging Infrastructure collects and analyses data from charging points that are funded within the scope of the BMDV’s funding programmes. The data is collected in accordance with the reporting obligation associated with the receipt of funding support for charging points within the terms of certain funding programmes.

The data includes information on installation and commissioning as well as core and operational data on the funded charging points already installed. It is collected via the “OBELIS” online platform (Online-Berichterstattung Ladeinfrastruktur – in English: Online Reporting Charging Infrastructure). OBELIS is divided into two different areas:

The data collected on the charging infrastructure is evaluated by the National Centre for Charging Infrastructure in order to incorporate findings on the status quo as well as recognisable developments into demand planning and the future structuring of the charging infrastructure expansion.

Should you have any questions regarding OBELISöffentlich or OBELISgewerblich, do not hesitate to contact us at obelis@now-gmbh.de

OBELISöffentlich

OBELISöffentlich is the online platform for submitting reports on subsidised publicly accessible charging points. In order to fulfil the reporting obligation, the funding recipients report the commissioning of the subsidised charging points and subsequently submit reports twice a year during the minimum operating period of 6 years. The half-yearly reports include one-off information on the core data, which can be updated in the following six months if necessary and otherwise only need to be confirmed as being up to date, as well as the operating data, which is uploaded in the form of a file with the charging processes that have taken place.

Deadlines for the half-yearly reports:

  • August (for the reporting period 01 January – 30 June)
  • February (for the reporting period 01 July – 31 December)

Details on the data that is queried in OBELISöffentlich can be seen in the PDF file entitled “Datenabfrage OBELISöffentlich.

Further information on reporting in OBELISöffentlich and tips on how to use it can be found in the quick guide and the FAQ.

In the event that your electrics specialist does not have their own standard commissioning protocol for the initial installation of your subsidised publicly accessible charging point, this template can be used.

OBELISgewerblich

OBELISgewerblich is the online platform for reporting on the subsidised non-publicly accessible charging points in the “Ladestationen für Elektrofahrzeuge – Unternehmen und Kommune” (“Charging Stations for Electric Vehicles – Companies and Municipalities”) funding programme (KfW 439 or KfW 441). To fulfil the reporting obligation, the funding recipients report their investment locations in operation, providing the core data of their funded charging stations installed there. Once the information is complete, the reporting ID is displayed, which is required in the KfW funding portal for the payment of the funding support. In addition, the amount of energy charged per investment location is queried every six months, whereby the start and end dates of the recording period for the kilowatt hours can be flexibly defined. Optionally, a file with the charging processes that have taken place can also be uploaded if the supported charging station is connected to an IT backend or has a local function to export the charging processes that have taken place in the form of a file in spreadsheet format.

Details on the data that is queried in OBELISgewerblich can be seen in the PDF file entitled “Datenabfrage OBELISgewerblich.

Studies & Publications

Position paper: “Easy charging: The charging experience as a user journey at public charging stations for electric vehicles now and in 2025”

The position paper is the first publication of the National Centre for Charging Infrastructure. It is the product of a series of workshops held in spring 2020 with automotive manufacturers and charging infrastructure operators, and serves as an important orientation for us. 

The paper describes the charging process from the user’s perspective at the present time and looks at the technological trends for the near future. The following developments are expected for the “user journey” in public charging in 2025:

  • Conducting the charging process from start to payment is simplified, mainly due to advances in communication between vehicles and charging stations. The charging time becomes more appealing to users due to the availability of shopping or entertainment opportunities in the vicinity of the charging station.
  • Improvements in support, especially through the higher penetration of digital remote maintenance.
  • Increasingly seamless integration of public charging into users’ everyday lives or route planning.
  • Enhanced navigation functions as well as the possibility to reserve the charging location.

Study “Charging infrastructure after 2025-2030: Scenarios for market ramp-up” commissioned by the BMVI and conducted by the Reiner Lemoine Institute under the leadership of the National Centre for Charging Infrastructure.

Overview of selected key findings:

  • The number of electric vehicles may increase significantly more by the years 2025 or 2030 than assumed today – this is indicated by confidential information from the car manufacturers surveyed. Up to 14.8 million battery electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids could be registered in Germany in 2030.
    • The need for publicly accessible charging infrastructure in 2030 is estimated at between 440,000 and 843,000 charging points. The number depends on how much private charging infrastructure is available and how busy the publicly accessible charging infrastructure is, but also on the charging behaviour of the users: If more charging hubs with fast charging points are used in the future, the demand will be significantly lower.
    • The calculations also show that the rigid ratio of electric vehicles to publicly accessible charging infrastructure of 10:1 is no longer appropriate. The study calculates a ratio of electric vehicles to publicly accessible charging infrastructure of 11:1 in 2021, rising to 20:1 in 2030. The reason for this is the better availability of private charging infrastructure and the increasing charging capacity of electric vehicles. The ratio for 2030 also varies depending on the location. For example, the study team determined a ratio of 14:1 for urban areas and 23:1 for suburban and rural areas.
    •  

      Further studies will follow

    Downloads

    Charging infrastructure after  2025/2030: Scenarios for the market ramp-up

    • Study commissioned by the BMVI (2020)

    Position paper: “Easy charging”

    • The charging experience as a user journey at public charging stations for electric vehicles now and in 2025” (2020)

    Glossary

Die Nationale Leitstelle Ladeinfrastruktur begreift sich als „Think-Tank“ rund um das Thema Ladeinfrastruktur: Sie erhebt und analysiert Daten, veröffentlicht Auswertungen sowie allgemeine Informationen zum Aufbau und Betrieb öffentlicher Ladestationen. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt dabei auf den im Rahmen der Förderprogramme des BMVI geförderten öffentlich zugänglichen Ladepunkten. Bei diesen werden beispielsweise die Auslastung, Kosten für Aufbau und Betrieb und die Ladetarife für das Ad-hoc-Laden von der Leitstelle genauer untersucht. Die Daten werden im Rahmen der Berichterstattung über die Online-Plattform OBELIS erhoben.

Zahlen und Fakten

Der Bereich „Zahlen und Fakten“ gibt eine Übersicht über den Ausbau der öffentlichen Ladeinfrastruktur in Deutschland auf Grundlage der von der Bundesnetzagentur erfassten Daten. Weiter zeigt der Bereich, wie viele Schnell- und Normalladepunkte gefördert wurden und wie viele davon bereits aufgebaut sind.

OBELIS 

Die Leitstelle erhebt und analysiert Daten von Ladepunkten, die im Rahmen der Förderprogramme des BMDV gefördert werden. Die Daten werden auf Basis der Berichtspflicht erhoben, an die der Erhalt von Fördergeldern für Ladestationen im Rahmen bestimmter Förderprogramme gebunden ist.

Die Daten umfassen Informationen zur Inbetriebnahme sowie Stamm- und Betriebsdaten der bereits aufgebauten geförderten Ladepunkte. Sie werden über die Online-Plattform OBELIS (kurz für Online-Berichterstattung Ladeinfrastruktur) erfasst. OBELIS gliedert sich in zwei verschiedene Bereiche:

OBELISöffentlich für öffentlich zugängliche Ladepunkte
OBELISgewerblich für nicht öffentlich zugängliche Ladepunkte

Die erhobenen Daten zur Ladeinfrastruktur werden durch die Leitstelle ausgewertet, um Erkenntnisse zum Status quo sowie erkennbare Entwicklungen in die Bedarfsplanung und zukünftige Gestaltung des Ladeinfrastrukturausbaus einfließen zu lassen.

Bei Fragen rund um OBELISöffentlich und OBELISgewerblich kontaktieren Sie uns unter obelis@now-gmbh.de

OBELISöffentlich

OBELISöffentlich ist die Online-Plattform für die Berichterstattung der geförderten öffentlich zugänglichen Ladepunkte. Zur Erfüllung der Berichtspflicht melden die Fördernehmenden die Inbetriebnahme der geförderten Ladestationen und übermitteln anschließend zweimal jährlich Halbjahresberichte während der Mindestbetriebslaufzeit von 6 Jahren. Die Halbjahresberichte umfassen einmalig die Angabe der Stammdaten, die im darauffolgenden Halbjahr bei Bedarf aktualisiert werden können und ansonsten nur noch als aktuell bestätigt werden müssen, sowie die Betriebsdaten, die in Form einer Datei mit den erfolgten Ladevorgängen hochgeladen werden.

Fristen der Halbjahresberichte:

  • August (für den Berichtszeitraum 01. Januar – 30. Juni)
  • Februar (für den Berichtszeitraum 01. Juli – 31. Dezember)

 

Welche Daten in OBELISöffentlich insgesamt abgefragt werden, können Sie in der PDF-Datei Datenabfrage OBELISöffentlich einsehen. Weitere Informationen und Hilfestellungen für die Berichterstattung in OBELISöffentlich finden Sie in der Kurzanleitung und in den FAQ.

Sollte Ihre Elektrofachkraft für die Inbetriebnahme Ihrer geförderten öffentlich zugänglichen Ladesäule über kein eigenes Standard-Inbetriebnahmeprotokoll verfügen, können Sie diese Vorlage verwenden.

OBELISgewerblich

OBELISgewerblich ist die Online-Plattform für die Berichterstattung zu den geförderten nicht öffentlich zugänglichen Ladepunkten im Förderprogramm “Ladestationen für Elektrofahrzeuge – Unternehmen und Kommune” (KfW 439 bzw. KfW 441). Zur Erfüllung der Berichtspflicht melden die Fördernehmenden ihre Investitionsstandorte in Betrieb unter Angabe der Stammdaten ihrer dort aufgebauten geförderten Ladestationen. Sobald die Angaben vollständig sind, wird die Reporting-ID angezeigt, die im KfW-Zuschussportal für die Zuschussauszahlung benötigt wird. Zusätzlich wird halbjährlich die geladene Energiemenge pro Investitionsstandort abgefragt, wobei das Start- und Enddatum des Erfassungszeitraumes für die Angabe der Kilowattstunden flexibel gewählt werden kann. Optional kann auch eine Datei mit den erfolgten Ladevorgängen hochgeladen werden, falls die geförderte Ladestation an ein IT-Backend angeschlossen ist oder über eine lokale Funktion verfügt, die erfolgten Ladevorgänge in Form einer Datei im Tabellenformat zu exportieren.

Welche Daten in OBELISgewerblich insgesamt abgefragt werden, können Sie in der PDF-Datei Datenabfrage OBELISgewerblich einsehen.

Studien & Veröffentlichungen

Thesenpapier „Einfach laden – Das Ladeerlebnis als User Journey an öffentlichen Ladestationen für Elektrofahrzeuge jetzt und 2025“

Das Thesenpapier ist die erste Veröffentlichung der Leitstelle. Es ist das Ergebnis einer Workshop-Serie der Leitstelle mit Automobilherstellern und Ladeinfrastruktur-Betreibern im Frühjahr 2020 und dient uns als wichtige Orientierung.

Es beschreibt den Ladeprozess aus Sicht der Nutzerinnen und Nutzer in der Gegenwart und blickt auf die technologischen Trends für die nähere Zukunft

Für die „User Journey“ beim öffentlichen Ladevorgang im Jahr 2025 sind folgende Entwicklungen zu erwarten:

  • Durchführung des Ladevorgangs vom Start bis zur Bezahlung wird vereinfacht, vor allem durch Fortschritte in der Kommunikation zwischen Fahrzeugen und Ladestation. Die Ladezeit wird durch Einkaufsmöglichkeiten oder Unterhaltungsangebote im Umkreis der Ladestation für die Nutzerinnen und Nutzer attraktiver
  • Verbesserungen im Support, vor allem durch die höhere Verbreitung digitaler Fernwartung
  • Zunehmend nahtlose Integration des öffentlichen Ladens in den Alltag oder die Routenplanung der Nutzerinnen und Nutzer
  • Erweiterte Navigationsfunktionen sowie Reservierungsmöglichkeit des Ladeortes

Studie „Ladeinfrastruktur nach 2025-2030: Szenarien für den Markthochlauf“ im Auftrag des BMVI, durchgeführt vom Reiner-Lemoine-Institut unter Führung der Nationalen Leitstelle Ladeinfrastruktur.

Einige der wichtigsten Ergebnisse:

  • Der Bestand an E-Fahrzeugen kann bis zu den Jahren 2025 bzw. 2030 deutlich stärker ansteigen als heute angenommen – das zeigen vertrauliche Angaben der befragten Automobilhersteller. Bis zu 14,8 Millionen batterieelektrische E-Fahrzeuge und Plug-In-Hybride könnten 2030 in Deutschland zugelassen sein.
  • Der Bedarf an öffentlich zugänglicher Ladeinfrastruktur im Jahr 2030 wird mit 440.000 bis 843.000 Ladepunkten beziffert. Die Zahl ist abhängig davon, wie viel private Ladeinfrastruktur verfügbar und wie stark ausgelastet die öffentlich zugängliche Ladeinfrastruktur ist, aber auch vom Ladeverhalten der Nutzenden: Werden künftig verstärkt Lade-Hubs mit Schnelladepunkten genutzt, ist der Bedarf deutlich geringer.
  • Die Berechnungen zeigen darüber hinaus, dass das starre Verhältnis von E-Fahrzeugen zu öffentlich zugänglicher Ladeinfrastruktur von 10:1 nicht mehr zeitgemäß ist. Die Studie berechnet ein Verhältnis von E-Fahrzeugen zu öffentlich zugänglicher Ladeinfrastruktur von 11:1 im Jahr 2021, das auf 20:1 im Jahr 2030 ansteigt. Grund dafür sind die bessere Verfügbarkeit von privater Ladeinfrastruktur und die steigende Ladeleistung von E-Fahrzeugen. Je nach Raumtyp fällt das Verhältnis für 2030 zudem unterschiedlich aus. So hat das Studienteam für den urbanen Raum ein Verhältnis von 14:1 und für den suburbanen und ländlichen Raum von 23:1 ermittelt.

Weitere Studien werden folgen

Downloads

Ladeinfrastruktur nach
2025/2030: Szenarien für
den Markthochlauf

  • Studie im Auftrag des BMVI (2020)

Thesenpapier: Einfach laden

  • Das Ladeerlebnis als User Journey an öffentlichen Ladestationen für Elektrofahrzeuge jetzt und 2025 (2020)

Glossar