We look at charging infrastructure as an overall system of public and private fast- and normal-charging options. We are improving this overall system in several fields in parallel: with a nationwide public fast-charging network for charging over long journeys and in densely populated areas, with funding for charging infrastructure privately at home and in the commercial area as well as in the public space for everyday use. Our next objective: the nearest fast-charging station should be reachable by electric car in 10 minutes, everywhere in Germany.

The Deutschlandnetz

To cover the demand for medium- and long-term journeys, the federal government is tendering for an extensive, demand-based and user-friendly fast-charging network with 1,000 locations nationwide – the Deutschlandnetz. The tender has started on 01 October 2021. Each of the charging points must provide at least 300 kW power. This will mean a fast-charging point can be reached within a few minutes from anywhere in Germany and can be rapidly recharged. An interactive map with the 900 search areas of the regional lots of the Deutschlandnetz and further key information on the tender can be found at www.deutschlandnetz.de
The construction and operation of the Deutschlandnetz will be awarded in two separate tenders:
• Regional lots
• Nationwide lots along motorways

A flexible price cap of 44 cent per kWh is envisaged in both tenders. By determining a price model for charging at the Deutschlandnetz locations it will be ensured that no harmful repercussions ensue for the market that is developing in parallel and that at the same time, users find fair prices. The level of the flexible price cap has been chosen taking into account both market economy and climate policy factors.

The step from funding to tender is a paradigm shift in the state’s support for charging infrastructure expansion in Germany. In addition to the funding programmes of the BMVI for public and non-public charging infrastructure, there is now an approach in which the construction and guarantee of the operation of the charging point are contractually obligatory for tender winners. The evaluation criteria comprise costs, concept and customer friendliness.

The 900 search areas of the regional lots are distributed across 23 regional lots in a total of 6 regions (North-West, North-East, Middle Germany, South-East, South-West and West). These search areas define a specific area, e.g. around a transport hub. There is to be a fast-charging location with at least four and up to 16 fast-charging points in each search area. The bidder must submit or find suitable locations within this search area. This tender procedure is directed at regionally active operators as well as small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs).

The nationwide motorways lots comprise approx. 200 locations on unserviced rest areas along the federal motorways. They are to create a seamless charging infrastructure along the motorways. Companies active across Germany and Europe are the particular focus of the tender for nationwide motorway lots, which will be issued by Autobahn GmbH in the autumn.

When determining the need for search areas and equipping them with charging points, the existing fast-charging infrastructure with more than 150 kW power was taken into account. Furthermore, the federal government sets minimum technical requirements and quality standards at the fast-charging network locations and ensures compliance with them.

Important documents, map and image material on the Deutschlandnetz can be found at https://nationale-leitstelle.de/downloads/

FAQs zum Deutschlandnetz

‘Local charging infrastructure’ funding guideline

Under this funding programme, small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), small municipal utilities and local authorities as well as companies in the retail and hotel and hospitality sectors can submit funding applications for the installation of charging infrastructure from 12 April to 31 December 2021. The goal is to accelerate the installation of charging stations at attractive everyday destinations. The funding volume is 300 million euros and covers up to 80 per cent of investment costs. The de-minimis funding is issued according to the order of applications received (first come, first served).
The programme is intended to act as rapid aid for SMEs. For example, small- and medium-sized enterprises particularly impacted by the pandemic get the opportunity to install a charging point inexpensively and thus increase customer acceptance. Especially in the rural area, these facilities have a significant number of parking spaces, making the installation of publicly accessible charging infrastructure particularly attractive. Municipal companies, e.g. supply and disposal companies, can also benefit from the funding and contribute to the expansion of local charging infrastructure.
Applications can be submitted via the BAV Website.

Notice of the funding guideline on the use of federal funds under the BMVI programme: ‘Local Charging Infrastructure’ on 24 March 2021.

Förderrichtlinie für öffentlich zugängliche Ladeinfrastruktur

Funding to support the development of publicly accessible charging infrastructure was a success, and will be continued. In the newly launched funding programme ‘Publicly accessible charging infrastructure for electric vehicles in Germany’, the BMVI is again making a total of 500 million euros available from the summer of 2021 until the end of 2025.
With the ‘Funding guideline on charging infrastructure for electric vehicles in Germany’, which had been running since February 2017 and was extended until June 2021, the federal government made a total of 300 million euros available in six funding calls, supporting private investors as well as cities and municipalities in installing fast- and regular-charging points. The federal funding programme for publicly accessible charging infrastructure of the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI) was in high demand. Applications for the installation of 30,000 charging points were approved, of which almost 10,000 were fast-charging points.

In the newly launched funding programme ‘Publicly accessible charging infrastructure for electric vehicles in Germany’, the BMVI is making a total of 500 million euros available from the summer of 2021 until the end of 2025. Regular-charging points with a charging capacity of up to 22 kW and fast-charging points with a capacity of more than 22 kW are being funded at which only DC charging is possible. Under the programme at least 50,000 charging points will be installed by the end of 2025 (at least 20,000 of which are fast-charging points) with the available budgetary funds.

On 17/08/2021 the first funding call of the newly launched funding guideline was published: ‘Publicly accessible charging infrastructure for electric vehicles in Germany’. Since 31/08/2021, companies, towns and municipalities, public institutions and private individuals have been able to submit applications. The following are funded in the first funding call:

  • Around 9,000 publicly-accessible charging points with a maximum charging capacity of up to 22 Kilowatts (normal charging points),
  • Around 9,000 publicly-accessible charging points with a maximum charging capacity of more than 22 Kilowatts, at which only charging with direct current (DC) is possible and
  • The grid connection belonging to a funded charging point or the combination of grid connection and buffer storage.

On 18/08/2021 the second funding call was published: Since 09/09/2021, companies, towns and municipalities, public institutions and private individuals can receive funding for the retrofitting of existing publicly accessible charging infrastructure. The funding call is aimed on the one hand, at modernising charging points in terms of higher charging capacity and more charging comfort and on the other hand, at making existing charging infrastructure publicly accessible to all. Up to 60 per cent of the eligible costs will be funded. All charging points must be publicly accessible and powered by electricity from renewable energies. The applications can be submitted from 31/08/2021 to 18/01/2022 (first funding call) and from 09/09/2021 to 27/01/2022 (second funding call).

All information on the ongoing application and approval procedures as well as the necessary documentation can be found on the homepage of the Federal Agency for Administrative Services (Bundesanstalt für (Bundesanstalt für Verwaltungsdienstleistungen – BAV). Verwaltungsdienstleistungen (BAV).

Further information

First call for applications on 17/08/2021 under the ‘Publicly accessible charging infrastructure for electric vehicles in Germany’ funding guideline from the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure of 13/07/2021
https://www.bmvi.de/SharedDocs/DE/Anlage/K/presse/erster-aufruf-foerderrichtlinie-oeffentlich-zugaengliche-ladeinfrastruktur-elektrofahrzeuge.pdf?__blob=publicationFile

First call for applications on 17/08/2021 under the ‘Publicly accessible charging infrastructure funding guideline for electric vehicles in Germany’ – Designation of the quotas per charging point in table form
https://www.bmvi.de/SharedDocs/DE/Anlage/K/presse/erster-aufruf-foerderrichtlinie-oeffentlich-zugaengliche-ladeinfrastruktur-elektrofahrzeuge-kontingente.pdf?__blob=publicationFile

First call for applications on 17/08/2021 according to the ‘Publicly accessible charging infrastructure for electric vehicles in Germany’ – Allocation of postcode to contingent region and demand category SLP2 in table form
https://www.bmvi.de/SharedDocs/DE/Anlage/K/presse/erster-aufruf-foerderrichtlinie-oeffentlich-zugaengliche-ladeinfrastruktur-elektrofahrzeuge-zuweisung-plz.pdf?__blob=publicationFile

Second call for applications on 18/08/2021 under the ‘Publicly accessible charging infrastructure for electric vehicles in Germany’
https://www.bmvi.de/SharedDocs/DE/Anlage/K/presse/zweiter-aufruf-foerderrichtlinie-oeffentlich-zugaengliche-ladeinfrastruktur-elektrofahrzeuge.pdf?__blob=publicationFile

Funding guidelines for fleet applications and employees

More than half of all new car registrations are in the commercial sector. Because of this, the electrification of the vehicle fleets of companies and local authorities can make an important contribution to the market ramp-up of electric mobility. The basis for this is that vehicles can be regularly and reliably charged. Companies can also make charging infrastructure available to their staff so they can recharge their vehicles in the company car park.
The federal government is also taking this charging scenario into account: commissioned by the BMVI, the Centre will develop a new funding programme for commercially used charging infrastructure. The programme enters into force in the summer of 2021, with companies, authorities and municipalities eligible to apply.

‘Charging stations for electric cars – residential buildings’ funding guideline

The majority of charging takes place at home. The ‘Charging stations for electric cars – residential buildings’ funding guideline reflects this. For the first time, the BMVI is enabling the funding of privately used charging stations for house and apartment owners, tenants and landlords or landlord associations. They can apply to the Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau (KfW) for a flat-rate subsidy of 900 euros for the purchase of a private charging station, including the costs of installation. Because of the high demand, the funding volume of the programme was increased three times to a total of 800 million euros.
Notice of the guideline on the use of federal funds under the ‘Charging infrastructure in residential buildings – investment grant’ of 6 October 2020

The Centre provided substantial support in the preparation and coordination of the funding guideline and will also analyse the expansion of private charging infrastructure. In this process, the Centre has ensured that the subsidised charging facilities can be digitally networked and controlled. This allows the load to be distributed intelligently so that the grid remains stable at all times. Electricity from renewable sources can also be more easily integrated.

Applications can be made through the KfW website.

Wir verstehen Ladeinfrastruktur als ein Gesamtsystem aus öffentlichen und privaten Schnell- und Normallademöglichkeiten. Dieses Gesamtsystem verbessern wir in mehreren Bereichen gleichzeitig: Mit einem deutschlandweiten öffentlichen Schnellladenetz für das Laden auf längeren Fahrten und in dicht besiedelten Gebieten, der Förderung von Ladeinfrastruktur privat zu Hause und im gewerblichen Bereich sowie im öffentlichen Raum unterwegs im Alltag. Unser nächstes Ziel heißt: Die nächste Schnellladestation soll überall in Deutschland in 10 Minuten mit dem Elektroauto erreichbar sein.

Das Deutschlandnetz

Um den Bedarf für Mittel- und Langstreckenfahrten zu decken, schreibt der Bund ein flächendeckendes, bedarfsgerechtes und benutzungsfreundliches deutschlandweites Schnellladenetz mit 1000 Standorten aus – das Deutschlandnetz. Jeder der Ladepunkte muss mindestens 300 kW Leistung verfügbar machen. Damit wird es möglich, überall in Deutschland in wenigen Minuten einen Schnellladepunkt zu erreichen und in kurzer Zeit aufzuladen. Eine interaktive Karte mit den 900 Suchräumen der Regionallose des Deutschlandnetzes und weiteren zentralen Infos zur Ausschreibung gibt es unter www.deutschlandnetz.de

Die Errichtung und der Betrieb des Deutschlandnetzes werden im Rahmen von zwei getrennten Ausschreibungen vergeben:
• Regionallose
• bundesweite Lose an Autobahnen

In beiden Ausschreibungen ist eine atmende Preisobergrenze von 44 Cent pro kWh vorgesehen. Durch die Festlegung eines Preismodells für das Laden an den Standorten des Deutschlandnetzes soll sichergestellt werden, dass sich keine schädlichen Rückwirkungen auf den sich parallel entwickelnden Markt ergeben und Nutzerinnen und Nutzer gleichzeitig faire Preise vorfinden. Die Höhe der atmenden Preisobergrenze ist sowohl unter Betrachtung marktwirtschaftlicher Gesichtspunkte als auch klimapolitischer Aspekte gewählt worden.

Der Schritt von der Förderung zur Ausschreibung ist ein Paradigmenwechsel bei der staatlichen Unterstützung des Ausbaus von Ladeinfrastruktur in Deutschland. Zusätzlich zu den Förderprogrammen des BMVI für öffentliche und nicht-öffentliche Ladeinfrastruktur existiert damit nun ein Ansatz, in dem für die Gewinner des Ausschreibungsverfahrens Aufbau und Gewährleistung des Betriebs der Ladepunkte vertraglich verpflichtend sind. Die Bewertungskriterien umfassen Kosten, Konzept und Kundenfreundlichkeit.

Die 900 Suchräume der Regionallose verteilen sich auf 23 Regionallose in insgesamt 6 Regionen (Nord-West, Nord-Ost, Mitteldeutschland, Süd-Ost, Süd-West und West). Diese Suchräume geben ein bestimmtes Gebiet, z.B. rund um einen Verkehrsknotenpunkt vor. In jedem Suchraum soll ein Schnellladestandort mit mindestens vier und bis zu 16 Schnellladepunkten entstehen. Die Bieter müssen geeignete Standorte innerhalb dieser Suchräume einbringen bzw. finden. Angesprochen werden mit diesem Verfahren regional tätige Betreiber sowie kleine- und mittelständische Unternehmen (KMU). Die Ausschreibung der Regionallose soll am 15. September 2021 erfolgen.

Die bundesweiten Autobahn-Lose umfassen ca. 200 Standorte auf unbewirtschafteten Rastanlagen entlang der Bundesautobahnen. Sie sollen eine lückenlose Ladeinfrastruktur entlang der Autobahnen schaffen. Mit dieser Ausschreibung sollen insbesondere Unternehmen, die deutschland- und europaweit tätig sind, angesprochen werden. Die Ausschreibung der bundesweiten Autobahn-Lose wird im Herbst durch die Autobahn GmbH erfolgen.

Bei der Ermittlung des Bedarfs an Suchräumen und ihrer Bestückung mit Ladepunkten wurde die bereits existierende Schnellladeinfrastruktur mit mehr als 150 kW Leistung berücksichtigt. Der Bund legt darüber hinaus auch technische Mindestanforderungen und Qualitätsstandards an den Standorten des Schnellladenetzes fest und stellt deren Einhaltung sicher.

Wichtige Dokumente, Karten- und Bildmaterial zum Deutschlandnetz finden Sie auch unter https://nationale-leitstelle.de/downloads/

Förderrichtlinie „Ladeinfrastruktur vor Ort“

In diesem Förderprogramm können kleine und mittlere Unternehmen (KMU), kleine Stadtwerke und kommunale Gebietskörperschaften sowie Unternehmen des Einzelhandels und des Hotel- und Gastgewerbes vom 12. April bis 31. Dezember 2021 Anträge zur Förderung des Aufbaus von Ladeinfrastruktur einreichen. Ziel ist es, den Aufbau von Ladestationen an attraktiven Zielorten des Alltags zu beschleunigen. Die Förderung hat ein Volumen von 300 Millionen Euro und deckt bis zu 80 Prozent der Investitionskosten. Die De-minimis-Förderung verläuft nach der zeitlichen Reihenfolge der eingegangenen Anträge („Windhundverfahren“).

Das Programm ist als schnelle Hilfe für KMU gedacht. So erhalten z.B. die durch die Pandemie besonders betroffenen kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen des Einzelhandels und des Hotel- und Gastgewerbes die Möglichkeit, einen Ladepunkt kostengünstig aufzustellen und so ihre Kundenakzeptanz zu steigern. Gerade im ländlichen Raum verfügen diese Einrichtungen zudem über eine signifikante Anzahl an Stellplätzen, was die Errichtung von öffentlich zugänglicher Ladeinfrastruktur besonders attraktiv macht. Auch kommunale Unternehmen, z.B. Ver- und Entsorger, können von der Förderung profitieren und zum Ausbau der Ladeinfrastruktur vor Ort beitragen.
Die Antragsstellung erfolgt über die Website der BAV.

Bekanntmachung der Richtlinie über den Einsatz von Bundesmitteln im Rahmen des BMVI-Programms „Ladeinfrastruktur vor Ort“ vom 24. März 2021

Förderrichtlinie für öffentlich zugängliche Ladeinfrastruktur

Die erfolgreiche Förderung zur Unterstützung des Aufbaus öffentlich zugänglicher Ladeinfrastruktur wird fortgeführt. In dem neu aufgelegten Förderprogramm „Öffentlich zugängliche Ladeinfrastruktur für Elektrofahrzeuge in Deutschland“ stellt das BMVI ab dem Sommer 2021 bis Ende 2025 insgesamt nochmals 500 Millionen Euro zur Verfügung.

Bereits mit der seit Februar 2017 laufenden und bis Juni 2021 verlängerten „Förderrichtlinie Ladeinfrastruktur für Elektrofahrzeuge in Deutschland“ hatte der Bund in sechs Förderaufrufen insgesamt 300 Millionen Euro zur Verfügung gestellt und damit sowohl private Investoren als auch Städte und Gemeinden bei der Errichtung von Schnell- und Normallladepunkten unterstützt. Das Bundesförderprogramm für öffentlich zugängliche Ladeinfrastruktur des Bundesministeriums für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (BMVI) traf auf eine sehr große Nachfrage. So konnten Anträge für den Aufbau von 30.000 Ladepunkten bewilligt werden, davon knapp 10.000 Schnellladepunkte.

In dem neu aufgelegten Förderprogramm „Öffentlich zugängliche Ladeinfrastruktur für Elektrofahrzeuge in Deutschland“ stehen ab dem Sommer 2021 bis Ende 2025 insgesamt 500 Millionen Euro zur Verfügung. Gefördert werden Normalladepunkte mit einer Ladeleistung bis zu 22 kW sowie Schnellladepunkte mit einer Leistung von mehr als 22 kW, an denen ausschließlich das Laden mit Gleichstrom (DC) möglich ist. Mit den zur Verfügung stehenden Haushaltsmitteln sollen im Rahmen dieses Programms bis Ende 2025 mindestens 50.000 Ladepunkte (davon mindestens 20.000 Schnellladepunkte) errichtet werden.

Am 17.08.2021 wurde der erste Förderaufruf der neu aufgelegten Förderrichtlinie „Öffentlich zugängliche Ladeinfrastruktur für Elektrofahrzeuge in Deutschland“ veröffentlicht: Ab 31.08.2021 können Unternehmen, Städte und Gemeinden, öffentliche Einrichtungen und Privatpersonen Förderanträge stellen. Im ersten Förderaufruf werden gefördert:

  • rund 9.000 öffentlich zugängliche Ladepunkte mit einer maximalen Ladeleistung von bis zu 22 Kilowatt (Normalladepunkte),
  • rund 9.000 öffentlich zugängliche Ladepunkte mit einer maximalen Ladeleistung von mehr als 22 Kilowatt, an denen ausschließlich das Laden mit Gleichstrom (DC) möglich ist (DC-Schnellladepunkte) und
  • der zu einem geförderten Ladepunkt gehörende Netzanschluss bzw. die Kombination aus Netzanschluss und Pufferspeicher.

Am 18.08.2021 wurde der zweite Förderaufruf veröffentlicht: Ab dem 09.09.2021 können Unternehmen, Städte und Gemeinden, öffentliche Einrichtungen und Privatpersonen die Nachrüstung bereits vorhandener öffentlich zugänglicher Ladeinfrastruktur gefördert bekommen. Der Förderaufruf zielt zum einen auf die Modernisierung der Ladesäulen mit Blick auf eine höhere Ladeleistung und mehr Ladekomfort und zum anderen darauf bereits bestehende Ladeinfrastruktur für alle öffentlich zugänglich zu machen.

Gefördert werden bis zu 60 Prozent der förderfähigen Kosten. Alle geförderten Ladesäulen müssen öffentlich zugänglich sein und mit Strom aus erneuerbaren Energien betrieben werden.‎ Die Anträge können vom 31.8.2021 bis zum 18.01.2022 (Erster Förderaufruf) bzw. vom 09.09.2021 bis zum 27.01.2022 (Zweiter Förderaufruf) eingereicht werden.

Alle Informationen zu den laufenden Antrags- und Bewilligungsverfahren sowie die notwendigen Unterlagen finden Sie auf der Homepage der Bundesanstalt für Verwaltungsdienstleistungen (BAV).

Weitere Informationen

Erster Aufruf zur Antragseinreichung vom 17.08.2021 gemäß der Förderrichtlinie „Öffentlich zugängliche Ladeinfrastruktur für Elektrofahrzeuge in Deutschland“ des Bundesministeriums für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur vom 13.07.2021
https://www.bmvi.de/SharedDocs/DE/Anlage/K/presse/erster-aufruf-foerderrichtlinie-oeffentlich-zugaengliche-ladeinfrastruktur-elektrofahrzeuge.pdf?__blob=publicationFile

Erster Aufruf zur Antragseinreichung vom 17.08.2021 gemäß der Förderrichtlinie „Öffentlich zugängliche Ladeinfrastruktur für Elektrofahrzeuge in Deutschland“ – Ausweisung der Kontingente je Ladepunkt-Kategorie in tabellarischer Form
https://www.bmvi.de/SharedDocs/DE/Anlage/K/presse/erster-aufruf-foerderrichtlinie-oeffentlich-zugaengliche-ladeinfrastruktur-elektrofahrzeuge-kontingente.pdf?__blob=publicationFile

Erster Aufruf zur Antragseinreichung vom 17.08.2021 gemäß der Förderrichtlinie „Öffentlich zugängliche Ladeinfrastruktur für Elektrofahrzeuge in Deutschland“ – Zuweisung Postleitzahl zu Kontingentregion und Bedarfskategorie-SLP2 in tabellarischer Form
https://www.bmvi.de/SharedDocs/DE/Anlage/K/presse/erster-aufruf-foerderrichtlinie-oeffentlich-zugaengliche-ladeinfrastruktur-elektrofahrzeuge-zuweisung-plz.pdf?__blob=publicationFile

Zweiter Aufruf zur Antragseinreichung vom 18.08.2021 gemäß der Förderrichtlinie „Öffentlich zugängliche Ladeinfrastruktur für Elektrofahrzeuge in Deutschland“
https://www.bmvi.de/SharedDocs/DE/Anlage/K/presse/zweiter-aufruf-foerderrichtlinie-oeffentlich-zugaengliche-ladeinfrastruktur-elektrofahrzeuge.pdf?__blob=publicationFile

Förderrichtlinie „Ladestationen für Elektroautos – Wohngebäude“

Ein Großteil der Ladevorgänge findet zu Hause statt. Dem wird die Förderrichtlinie „Ladestationen für Elektroautos – Wohngebäude“ gerecht. Damit ermöglicht das BMVI erstmals die Förderung von privat genutzten Ladestationen für Haus- und Wohnungsbesitzer, Mieter und Vermieter beziehungsweise Vermietergesellschaften. Diese können bei der Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau (KfW) eine pauschale Förderung von 900 Euro für den Erwerb einer privaten Ladestation inklusive der Kosten der Installation beantragen. Auf Grund der großen Nachfrage wurde das Fördervolumen des Programmes bereits drei Mal, auf insgesamt 800 Mio. Euro, erhöht.

Die Leitstelle hat die Ausarbeitung und Koordinierung der Förderrichtlinie maßgeblich unterstützt und wird den Ausbau der privaten Ladeinfrastruktur begleitend analysieren. Dabei hat die Leitstelle sichergestellt, dass die geförderten Ladeeinrichtungen digital vernetzt und gesteuert werden können. Dadurch lässt sich die Last intelligent verteilen, so dass das Netz jederzeit stabil bleibt. Außerdem kann so Strom aus erneuerbaren Quellen einfacher eingebunden werden.

Die Antragsstellung erfolgt über die Website der KfW.

Förderrichtlinie für Flottenanwendungen und Beschäftigte

Mehr als die Hälfte aller Pkw-Neuzulassungen erfolgt im gewerblichen Bereich. Somit kann die Elektrifizierung von Fahrzeugflotten von Unternehmen und Behörden einen wichtigen Beitrag zum Markthochlauf der Elektromobilität leisten. Grundlage hierfür ist, dass die Fahrzeuge regelmäßig und zuverlässig geladen werden können. Unternehmen können zudem ihren Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern Ladeinfrastruktur für das Aufladen ihrer Fahrzeuge auf unternehmenseigenen Parkplätzen zur Verfügung stellen.

Die Bundesregierung trägt auch diesen Ladeszenarien Rechnung: Die Leitstelle wird im Auftrag des BMVI ein neues Förderprogramm für gewerblich genutzte Ladeinfrastruktur entwickeln. Das Programm soll im Sommer 2021 in Kraft treten, antragsberechtigt werden Unternehmen, Behörden und Kommunen sein.